The Carolinas District encompasses fleets in North and South Carolina as well as a fleet in Virginia.

In North Carolina we have Carolina Sailing Club in Durham, Lake Norman in Mooresville, Lake Townsend Yacht Club in Greensboro and Moorehead City Boating Club in Moorehead City. In South Carolina, we have Lake Murray Sailing Club in Columbia and South Carolina Yacht Club on Hilton Head Island. And in Virginia we have Smith Mountain Lake in Lake Roanoke.

The District Governor is Dave Safirstein.

2023 Fall 48 Top 5The Fall 48 started with a cool Friday night dipping into the 30s, but the firepit and the wide variety of homemade chillis made for a cozy evening at the clubhouse.   We had 25 boats registered and crews from 7 different states.  We were all pleasantly surprised when Saturday’s forecast for no wind was wrong.  Great breeze during the skippers meeting sent the boats out to the race course.  After a short postponement, the wind filled in from the east at 3 to 5mph.... Read More
The Flying Scot NAC includes an array of awards for the race winners and special categories. Here is a full list of awards given at the 2023 NAC. 2023 Flying Scot NAC at Lake Norman Yacht Club, Mooresville, NC, Awards List Best Sailed Club-Owned Boat Detroit Yacht Club Cup – Awarded to the best sailed club-owned boat. Not awarded in 2023 Best Sailed Challenger Boat with Woman on Board Nancy Roman Trophy – Awarded to the highest finisher... Read More
The 2023 Flying Scot NAC Fleet 1 award was presented to Fleet 23, Corinthian Sailing Club, Dallas, TX. This award is for the best Fleet in the NAC. Three fleets were in contention for this award, Fleet 23, Fleet 28 from Lake Norman Yacht Club and Fleet 76 from Massapoag Yacht Club. Congratulations to Fleet 23. Read More
Races 4 and 5 were great, with a nice northerly breeze 8-12 with lots of puffs and shifts. The PRO Matt Bounds and crew did a wonderful job on the water. Tim Porter and team did an wonderful job running this event and we thank them so much! Winners of the Regstta were: Challenger Winners Mark Johnson and David Gorwitz Championship winners Jeff and Amy Smith Linton Congratulations to all the winners - results are here Read More
FSSA outgoing President Nancy Claypool hands “the gavel” to incoming President Jim Leggette. Nancy thanked all who helped her during her time as President and we all thank her for the countless hours she served. Nancy remains on the Executive Committee as Commodore. She was awarded a plaque with her sail number as a memento and a thank you.