Race Scoring - Tie Breaker

Using the Low Point system of RSS the A8 rules would apply to tie breakers. So if we have:
Boat Race 1 Race 2 Race 3 Race 4 Race 5 Final Score
A 6 6 8 5 5 30
B 10 4 1 8 7 30
then boat B (with its best race position being 1) beats boat A (with its best race position 5). Right? I'm confused because at a FSSA regatta A ranked better than B, while both positions were in trophy range. The same weirdness happened twice more in the results.

Claus FS5074 Ames, IA

Comments

Claus, You have the tie breaker figured correctly according to

Claus, You have the tie breaker figured correctly according to RRS A8.1. If you saw other ties broken differently it may have been done with a change in the sailing instructions. If you stlii have those documents check that out, otherwise someone may not have known the correct procedure. Bill Ross, FS/5820 Chmn. FSSA National Championship Cmtte.

Bill Ross  F/S 6020

Chairman FSSA National Championship Committee