Aft deck alteration but still class legal?

Hi Folks, I'm buying a Flying Scot to race but there was an alteration performed on the aft deck.  Please reference link:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/79276728@N08/sets/72157629503771242/

.  Does anyone know what the class rules state and if this is class legal or if it can be restored to class legal.  Thanks! ~Chris

 

Comments

WOW! Don't know why anyone

WOW! Don't know why anyone would need to do that. About the only thing I can think of is maybe the minimum weight will not be met. Hopefully Mr. Neff will see your post and comment.

I doubt that will be class

I doubt that will be class legal.  In general the hull (including the deck and topsides) must conform to the official mold.  However presumably it could be restored to class legal, but that looks like it would be a lot of work.  Would probably be easier to buy a different Scot.

Freak contrivance

I would look at different boats. The boat would likely be ruled illegal and it is significantly devalued by the modification. It may be too light to be legal or too heavy, depending on what they used. I can't imagine why they did this. Maybe a tree fell and crushed that part of the deck?

Phil Scheetz

FS 4086

Fleet 163, Nockamixon Sail Club

...

By the way my reference above is to the handbook, which says that any modification that was not specifically stated as legal was illegal. It used the term "freak contrivances" to include all manner of modifications that would be too seldom seen to include in the handbook. See CMR 42. All freak contrivances are illegal.

Phil Scheetz

FS 4086

Fleet 163, Nockamixon Sail Club