Carolinas Helmold/Singletary Series

Helmold/Singletary Wrap-up

Dave “Sailordave” Batchelor – District Governor


Charlie Buckner, his son Silas who just turned 12 and regular crew Dale Oller aboard FS 5971 “MOJO” won the Helmold/Singletary series at the VISA invitational regatta by winning first place.   This team has been sailing together for at least 3 years and really jelled this year averaging just 2.31 points at his 4 best regattas.  They sailed 7 of the 8 regattas in the series.  Congratulations and thanks for winning one for Fleet 27.  The fleet has good representation at most regattas in the series but not competing at the top all that often in quite a few years.  Results are attached.


Considering the economy and gas prices in particular I looked back at results from previous years to see how participation was affected.  As you can see below the number of district members participating* in at least one regatta is almost constant and the number qualifying** by sailing at least 4 regattas is also little changed being down just a little this year.


Year                             District Skippers Racing*                    Skippers Qualifying**


2012                                        61                                                        9

2010                                        62                                                        12

2009                                        62                                                        11


In prior years the number participating was significantly lower and the number qualifying was usually just one or two skippers.  The big change came when we went to a low point scoring system and reduced the number of regattas needed to qualify to just 4 out of the 7 or 8 regattas each year.  The change occurred at the same time we lost 2 fleets to the Dixie Inland district and our total number of regattas dropped from 10 to 8.  Four traveling regattas is a reasonable and doable number and those of us that travel really enjoy seeing old and new friends and the great competition on different waters.  The objective of the donor of the Helmold/Singletary trophy was to promote travel and participation and I believe our system is achieving that goal. 

Don Smith and Chris from Fleet 48 gave “MOJO” a run for the money all season and Ray Merrill from Fleet 27 got more competitive this year and just needs a regular crew to be a real threat.  Tom Bews from Fleet 126 came on strong to take 4th overall with a second at VISA.  Looks like old guys like me better get in shape so we can sail more often and hopefully better.


A Special Note


Joe Brake, a former H/S winner, sold his Scot a couple of years ago to start a new family and he and Stacy have two great looking sons Beau and Becket and live in Beaufort.   Well, Joe has another Scot he and his dad are rebuilding and we better be ready for his return next year.  Joe is a great coach and he shared has talent by sailing with several skippers during the season and leaving his mark.  I believe every skipper improved his usual finishing position a lot and, by their comments, learned a lot.  Several of them have written about their experience and I will be trying them out my own self.  Thanks Joe for your support of our sport. 


Carolinas District Clubs
United States
Regatta Date: 
Saturday, October 6, 2012 - Sunday, October 7, 2012
Race Results: 
Great 48Pirates on the PungoMayor's CupGovernor's CupBBSCLMSCDistricts @ ACCsVISATotalSailedRegatta
SkipperSail No.AverageAverageAverageAverageAverageAverageAverageAveragePointsRegattasAveragePlace
Charlie Buckner597114.6t4.0t1.3342.258.4t1.679.2572.311
Don Smith575721.6t3.226.252.3313.7853.452
Ray Merrill432223.8t1.316.865.3312.25t19.4564.863
Tom Bews268019.4t87622355.754
John Hemphill404331.8t7.86.337.3310.431.8757.975
Tom Kirtley54823.7510.24.6713.832.4248.16
Christophern Herman40887412.510.634.148.537
Steve Morris350036.8t11.68.338.3320.75t6.234.4768.628
Jack Griffin581829.83.1911.212.856.99414.259
* Throwouts
Dave Batchelor51644.754.3317.826.883
Mark Evans484234.45.6715.655.673
Bob Hoffman385339.6167.6763.273
Alan Backus41052.251.673.922
Rich Sweet5546*9.29.22
Larry Vitez508521.23.524.72
Alan Gowan564218.67.526.12
Ryan Gaskin567320.27.7527.952
John Rue448519.8928.82
Tommy Weaver223.212.7535.952
Wendell Gundlach598032.222.254.42
Brent Coleman 40563.33.31
Starling Gunn1104441
Peter Beam51714.44.41
Ted Wagstaff43884.674.671
Eric Aschaffenburg5784551
Ed Summerfield47366.26.21
Uwe Heine3801771
Joe Price50927.27.21
Sam Secrest39797.757.751
Larry Lewis393311.411.41
Bud Buckwell513612.7512.751
Bill Ross602013131
Bob Lockwood470913.513.51
Ben Connor389714.7514.751
Bob Walrath580814.7514.751
Steve Raper405115151
Zach Rue442715151
Bob Moats259516161
Tad Jarzyna598916161
Robert King5546*16161
Doug French245316.7516.751
Chuck Gise207016.816.81
David Duff193917171
Dave Safirstein502220.620.61
Bill Haxton490921211
Dan Goldberg499121.221.21
Mark Benner601121.221.21
Chris Rudek416921.7521.751
Edie Sullivan428223.223.21
Walt Rothschild561525.825.81
Don Griffin225926.226.21
Jake Barnhardt128026.426.41
Richard Grayson493128.228.21
Bane Shaw521429291
Liz Elden586632.832.81
Adam Coker572634.434.41
Dick Worthen458635.235.21
Carl Robinson406735.435.41
Chuck Kline284838.238.21
Robert Quinn420241.441.41
Coley McMenamin569145451
District Competitors for 2012 = 61
Non District Competitors
John Aras531032
Paul Abdullah57874.2
Ben Williams58974.8
Ryan Malmgren60226.8
Rob Whittemore55667.8
John Kreidler267782.25
Harry Carpenter18.22
Tom Hohler3883334.4
Len Guenther50553.4
Jay Buhl50375.2
Mark Wensell47359.4
Chris Cookson410411
Bob Strang567812.6
Mike Noone585016.2
Walter Koch560017
Tom Gallagher470417.4
Scott Racette400018.6
John Guavin 487820.2
Jimmy Lee 5.33
Dan McFarland 5.67
Bob Suydam 8.33
Ken Butler 8.33
Non-district competitors22